Holy Shit, This Game is Amazing

Discussion in 'Metro 2033 Forums' started by VSV, Dec 12, 2011.

1. VSV

VSV Active Member

Knowing the game went on sale last year on steam for $10 on Thanksgiving and $5 during the holidays, I waited for the same to happen this year and it did, as I picked it up on Thanksgiving.

I initially played it for a few hours and got frustrated during Frontline where I had no clue where to go (since the game is quite a bit dark on the TV I have hooked up to my PC, and raising the Gamma levels did little to nothing to fix the problem) until I saw a video on how to get through the level peacefully, which showed the little stairway to the left of the first train cart. Just yesterday I started playing again, and now I can't stop.

Honestly, while the first playthrough is cool for the story and atmosphere, this game actually gets more and more fun the more I play it; I'm on my 3rd playthrough, and I am having just a blast. Josh Sawyer defines an RPG as a game that lets you really step into and fill your character's shoes, as well as make an investment and pay in both a positive and negative way for it, instead of some obligatory experience points system. Honestly, in that sense, 2033 is a fantastic RPG. You make an investment in your character; purchasing armors are a hefty investment you won't get back, and you'll likely have to sell ammo for guns you aren't using to afford the stuff for ones you are, especially on Ranger difficulties. Plus, while getting the good one is pretty difficult, the presence of two endings (both of which feel justified based on how you went into the game, a pretty impressive feat IMO) gives your playthrough at least some potential for differentiation and uniqueness.