Quantcast

The Atelier Series

Discussion in 'General RPG Discussion' started by shadowsupernature, Jun 28, 2015.

1. shadowsupernature

shadowsupernature Active Member

I figured we'd have a general Atelier discussion thread. Nice nobody seems to have made one as of yet

I have some. . .pretty strong feelings about Escha and Logy that aren't entirely appropriate for an OP, so, anyone else playing? How are you enjoying it?

2. tarverten

tarverten Well-Known Member

Anyhow, I just started playing and am really surprised by it. I thought I knew what to expect after playing Ayesha but I was mistaken it seems.

My initial thoughts...

THE GOOD:
    -I think Logy makes a great MC.
    -Beautiful characters that somewhat escape cliche' archetypical roles more so then past titles. This is debatable but I really didn't feel Ayesha's cast too memorable outside a few whom I REALLY liked (namely Marion and Keithgriff)
    -The world is much more "Dusk" appropriate if you ask me. The departure in tone and style from Ayesha to E&L fits the dying world description far better.
    -The music is very much of a different "tune" in this title. More jazzy and energetic (so far). It is a subjective matter but I'm fond of it.
    -Menu surfing/alchemy, though complex, is streamlined in a fashion thats makes it so hell-a-accessible and even better then Ayesha. I didn't think that was possible as, in Ayesha, I was able to craft at warp 9 with wild abandon by the end of the game but they pulled it off.
    -Wilbell is back.... I like Wilbell.
    -Smashing barrels with Logy in the fields feels good. LoL

THE NOT SO GOOD: