Just started, my thoughts

Discussion in 'Dungeons and Dragons Online' started by missbee23, Nov 25, 2014.

1. missbee23

missbee23 Member

WoW was my first mmorpg. I was roped in by a friend, and became hooked overnight. Flash forward several years, and the game just ain't what it used to be.

It was suggested that I should play D&D online. I hesitated for a long time because I knew that it would require more time to learn all the fine details since I have no background with the original tabletop.Besides, I was so used to WoW, it was the standard that everything was measured by. Big mistake.

It has been several years since I have played wow so I feel far enough removed from it that I can appreciate other similar games.

So I started playing D&D online, and after several hours, I realized that I was still level 1. By that time, in wow, I would be level 10. I was pleasantly surprised by this. It meant that the game would not come easy (though it was not hard either). There was a nice balance between easy and challenging. It doesn't take long to move through a quest, but it wasn't mind numbingly simple (kill x number of these monsters). There is depth to it. I find myself reading the quests for the first time in a long time.

I think I am going to like this game. :)

2. Primalclaws1974

Primalclaws1974 Well-Known Member

I don't try new MMORPG very often, because like you said it takes forever to learn it. Dungeons and Dragons was the third MMO I tried, after Ultima Online and World of Warcraft. I was not impressed. The graphics seemed "drawn" strangely. I didn't even like how the character moved. It seemed to be endless quests. I tired of it rather quickly.

3. greensat

greensat Active Member

Dungeons and Dragons is not really my thing just because of the graphics. I feel like I'm wasting my gaming computer by spending time playing this, no offense, garbage of a game.

4. Azrile

Azrile Well-Known Member
    Regular