Building a new PC

Discussion in 'Technical Discussion & Support' started by Skaara Dreadlocks, Mar 8, 2016.

1. Skaara Dreadlocks

Heya'all. A little bit of personal info:
    I've been considering for a while now to build mah'self a new Gaming PC, with the VR goggles and all coming up, especially Star Citizen at the end of this year. I received some extra bonus-money this month (a little less than expected, but still just about enough), and will probably get some more extra in June. Come summer, I will use my monthly wager on vacation and whatnot, and after summer I'll be moving out, to get my own place (which will be expensive, but I've saved up and am still saving up a small ammount every month). Therefor, I desperately want to finish this PC project, preferrably including VR goggles, in early June.

Cutting to the chase:
    The physical PC-building is not a problem, but I'm no expert so I know pretty much nothing about which parts are best for their price, and which fits with which etc. So I've looked up PC-gamer's mid-range PC build guide, because a budget PC-build will not suffice, and a high-end PC build is just too expensive as well as unnecessary.

All I'm wondering is, are these parts okay? Does anyone have any bad/good experiences with any of these parts, or does anyone have any recommendations for any other parts? I'll also need a monitor, and have no clue which one to get.

I'd appreciate any feedback, if anyone feels capable and willing :)

2. Bamul

Bamul S.T.A.L.K.E.R.
    Regular

It's funny how they call this a mid-range gaming PC. With a GTX 970, 8 gigs of RAM and that processor, I'd call it high end if you want to game at 1080p with most settings maxed in practically all games (though I guess high end nowadays means 4K resolution and that). However, I don't know how well it would handle VR. According to this, it would be more than fine.