Will Guild Wars 2 work with Linux?

Discussion in 'MMORPG Forums - Site News' started by Jesse, Nov 28, 2011.

  1. Jesse

    Jesse
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have a Windows PC as well as a Linux built computer. I was wondering if I'd be able to play Guild Wars 2 on my Linux ran computer? I have Ubuntu 10.04 and I happen to enjoy it a lot for various reasons. If I could play GW2 on this, that'd be great. Of course my first option would be to play it on my windows PC, but I do have more RAM on my Linux PC.
     
    1 person likes this.
  2. Persian

    Persian
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    3
    linux can work with anything bro.
     
  3. Aleister

    Aleister
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm sure it will eventually. But it may take the folks at WINE a little time to get the kinks worked out. And of course ncsoft and arenanet won't officially support it.

    I for one can't wait for the day that all the major game companies finally start using OpenGL instead of DirectX so that cross platform gaming is more feasible.
     
  4. pr0xx1d

    pr0xx1d
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    9
    Wine is your friend here!
     
  5. RMCMage

    RMCMage
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    11
    It might just be easier to install windows on a second drive or partition your HDD if you can't get wine to work with the game.
     
  6. Artixion

    Artixion
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not right now, I've tried doing it I remember and it never worked. You would need to run it through a visualization and still that never works out properly. Go ahead and install windows and run it there, it's worth it trust me.