University or work?

Discussion in 'The Lounge - Off Topic!' started by grinder, Aug 27, 2015.

1. grinder

grinder Well-Known Member

Hi guys, I've just finished the high school and I graduated in IT. What's your opinion on what should I do now? Go to university and get hopefully a degree or start working?

2. anadrotowski

anadrotowski Well-Known Member
    Regular

I'd go to university to get a better job in my opinion. If you start working, you're closing off a whole world of opportunities without a degree in this modern age. It seems like you're not able to move any further without one to begin with.

3. grinder

grinder Well-Known Member

Yes, at the end I guess that the university has to be done in order to succedeed and have better job opportunities you have to go to university but the idea of making another 5 years of studies it really disturb me.

4. thecorinthian

thecorinthian Well-Known Member
    Regular

You could always do both, work in the morning then study at night. It depends on your choice of courses too make sure they have night classes. I recommend trying to work for 1-2 years if you still think you can go through with it then stay in that company but if they're witholding your promoting due to lack of education then leave it to study. Find a company who supports your education, it's a good investment into the future anyway.

5. moneyman

moneyman Well-Known Member
    Regular

I would recommend educating yourself since in the future simple jobs would disappear and more jobs in designing, programming and research would open . However, you may always work besides your studies if you feel like it.

6. Cereus

Cereus Well-Known Member
    Regular