How Group Based is DDO ?

Discussion in 'Dungeons and Dragons Online' started by callmehomergade, Jun 9, 2015.

1. callmehomergade

Hello,
    I bought DDO back when it launched but my PC at the time could not run it very well. Lately, I have been looking for a game with a heavy emphasis on grouping with other players as early as possible. I used to play GW1 and I loved how you pretty much were forced to be in a party from level 2+.
    So, my question is: how group based is DDO? If I started playing again, would I find myself soloing very much? If there is a lot of soloing, how long would I have to solo until I got to group content?

2. Totalarmordestine

Totalarmordestine Well-Known Member

To answer your question, DDO provides experiences for both solo play and groups. Each quest instance is divided into several different difficulties (Casual, Normal, Hard, Elite) of which you can choose to do solo or with a party. There are a handful of solo only quests in the Harbor area, but those are not essential and they are quite brief.

My main server is Cannith. According to my observations, there is a fair spread of available groups in the LFG panel during any given hour. However, most activity seems to be heavily concentrated during the evening (after suppertime or so Eastern Time Zone) and during the daylight hours (evening for folks across the pond and such). Low level groups as well as higher end groups are represented on a fluctuating basis.

If you are interested in playing the game again, I do head a guild (MMORPG'com) that fosters new players. We are quite small, but do have a strong alliance with some other folks on the server who continually offer assistance to myself as well as others in my guild.