Has there been a MMO shutting down while you are still playing?

Discussion in 'General MMORPG Discussion' started by vash, May 18, 2016.

1. vash

vash Well-Known Member
    Regular

All things come to an end...

Has anyone experienced the shutting down (for good) for a MMORPG while you are still enjoying it? If so, what game was it? Why did they shut it down? How long have you been playing it? How did you feel about the shutting down?

Personally, I have no such experience. But I have thought about it that if I am still enjoy playing the game, it would be a MEGA sad day for me and all of my playmates on the final day (or final hour, minutes, moments... ). We'd be hugging each other in tears (if it is allowed) on the server lol...

What do you think?

2. FuZyOn

FuZyOn Well-Known Member
    Regular

Yeah, I used to play Pirates of The Carribean Online when I was a little younger and I had so much fun playing it I was sad for days when it closed. The rest of the players (thousands) came in the same place on the final day of the game, it was pretty amazing. Here's a screenshot:
    [​IMG]

3. vash

vash Well-Known Member
    Regular

Hi,
    It is truly sad when you were still having so much fun playing it.
    From the sound of it, there were still a lot of active players when the game was shut down.

Please answer the following questions from my first post. :) You never answered them.

4. FuZyOn

FuZyOn Well-Known Member
    Regular

I think they shut down the game because it wasn't profitable anymore, I've been playing it for a couple of years at that point. From what I've read online they're planning a re-launch with a reskinned game, I would love to see that happening.

5. Nytegeek

Nytegeek No namby pamby hand holding over FUD. EXTERMINATE!
    Regular

Yes, I played Vanguard, Star Wars Galaxies, and 2 moons. Two of those were SOE (now known as Daybreak) and the third was Acclaim. All 3 were frustrating to me. so much wasted potential and bad management.