Quantcast

Did anyone play the main SMT tites?

Discussion in 'Persona 5 Royal' started by Aladar, May 3, 2015.

1. Aladar

Aladar Well-Known Member

Is anyone here a fan of the main Shin Megami Tensei titles? :) I started playing them last year, starting with the first SMT on SNES, and it's really fun. Definitely deeper than I expected as well. The only downside to them - at least the old titles - is that you can get lost very easily in the dungeons, way more than in other old dungeon crawler games. Other than that, I would definitely recommend it!

2. Narukami

Narukami Well-Known Member Regular

I've never played the original SMT and SMT 2, sadly. I've been spoiled by modern gaming, it's hard to go back to these SNES RPGs. That said, I did play Nocturne. I love Nocturne and think it's one of the best JRPGs ever made! I can't praise the game enough. It's simply amazing in so many ways. Fantastic high-risk/high-reward combat system, excellent soundtrack, great graphics which ooze style, pretty damn good plot and world-building, etc. A solid 9/10, that one. Maybe even 9.5/10, but that's too generous for me, heheh.

I haven't played SMT4 either, though. I don't have a 3DS. Really want to play it, however...

It's kinda funny though, when you think about it. There's only 4 main Shin Megami Tensei titles, but there's a hundred spin-offs. Digital Devil Saga, Raidou Kuzunoha, Persona (which has turned into its own franchise by this point), Strange Journey (which was believed to be SMT4 haha), Devil Summoner, Soul Hackers, etc...

3. SereneAngel88

SereneAngel88 Well-Known Member Regular

Then only way I could play the original game is on an emulator...but it's a decision I'm glad I took. Now, I only look forward to the day when SMT: IF is finally translated...

4. ProNine

ProNine Well-Known Member Regular

I was also thinking about grabbing an emulator and the rom to play the game. I have been playing Persona 3 P lately but want to expand more into the SMT series.