Quantcast

Content or Mod Recommendations?

Discussion in 'Civilization V' started by Bapsy, Jul 25, 2016.

1. Bapsy

Bapsy Member Regular

Hi all, I've only played the base game of Civilizations V and have enjoyed it very much. However, I am curious what downloadable contents are available that you might recommend and why you enjoy that content? Or if there are any particular mods for the game that you enjoy and why?

2. jasonr299x

jasonr299x Active Member Regular

It completely depends on the type of mods you want to get!

Do you want to completely revamp the way the game is played? Do you want to play as a brand new Civilization? Or do you just want minor mods that will make the game a little more enjoyable?

Mods are honestly my favorite thing about the game. There's just so many to choose from! I've been playing the game since 2013 and there's still dozens of mods that I went to get through before Civ 6.

My favorite mod so far is the JFD mod. If you look for it on the Steam community mod page you should be able to find it.

Basically, you get to play as a ton of different civs from the past. My favorite one to play at the moment is Gilgamesh, since he was such a big part of the literature that I read growing up.

Another really great mod is the Community Balance mod, which as you may have already guessed, is a bunch of balance changes that were voted for by the community. I'm not sure if it's still being updated, but when I used it, I was honestly overwhelmed with how many options there were. You can customize a lot of the settings of the game that usually aren't able to be changed.

I could go on and on and on, but honestly, there's way too many mods to go over. A good idea would be to go on the Steam Community page, sort by highest rating, and look through whichever mods you find interesting. Everyone will have a different opinion on this subject, so the best way to find which mods are your favorites is to go through them one by one. Good luck!

3. qag