Artyom's Journal

Discussion in 'Books & Comics' started by ArturAndreievichBashmakov, Aug 12, 2013.

1. ArturAndreievichBashmakov

Hey all! I'm new around here, and I joined to get feedback on an idea I had: a rendition of Artyom's journal. For this simple little project, I was going to take a leather bound journal and handwrite all of Artyom's quotes in it. This would include his monologue during the Metro 2033 intro (I was born in Moscow...), all of the level descriptions in Metro 2033, all of the level descriptions in Metro: Last Light, and (I'm kinda debating this one) all of the notes lying around Last Light. Once all this is written down, I want to touch it up with soot, bloodstains, burns, and other wear and tear. Oh, and to keep it authentic, it's all being written in Russian (I'm studying Russian, so this project is both cool and educational)

A few questions:

1) How should I organize this journal? Should I start with Artyom's intro speech? Should I include the level description from the Metro 2033 level Prologue (a flashback seems highly out of place in a journal)? For the Last Light portion, should I write the notes after the descriptions for the levels they are found in, or should I mix them up? Should I keep purely to what is said in-game, or should I add any transitions?

2) How extensive should my "touching up" be? Should I absolutely destroy this notebook (lots of stains, soaking the book to age the whole thing, lots of teas)? Or should be a little more conservative with the whole process?

3) Does anybody have pictures of the Russian version level descriptions and notes in Last Light? I don't plan on being in front of my Xbox the entire time I do this project, so having pictures on my computer of all the quotes is going to be essential. I already have the ones for 2033, but if anyone has the Last Light ones (or the links to them), that would be great!